The organizing committee and the Department of Mathematics: Analysis, Logic and Discrete Mathematics at Ghent University are pleased to invite you to participate in the International Conference on Generalized Functions GF2020, to be held at Ghent, Belgium, from August 31 to September 4, 2020. The conference is dedicated to the 70th birthday of Prof. Stevan Pilipović.


The GF2020 will take place at Ghent University as an in-person event. However, there will also be the possibility to participate remotely online.

Aims and scope

This conference continues a long-standing tradition of international conferences on generalized functions gathering researchers working in all branches of this field. The most recent conferences were held in Novi Sad (Serbia, 2018), Dubrovnik (Croatia, 2016), Southampton (United Kingdom, 2014), Martinique (France, 2011) and Vienna (Austria, 2009). The GF2020 aims at a broad coverage of research on generalized functions and their applications in and interactions with other areas of mathematics. Topics include, but are not limited to:
  • Distributions, ultradistributions, hyperfunctions and algebras of generalized functions
  • Linear and non-linear differential equations and stochastic analysis
  • Pseudodifferential operators and microlocal analysis
  • Geometric problems and non-linear distributional geometry
  • Applications in mathematical modelling and mathematical physics
  • Harmonic analysis, time-frequency analysis and function spaces
  • Functional analytic methods in the theory of generalized functions

Plenary Speakers

  • Marco Cappiello (University of Turin, Italy)
  • Ricardo Estrada (Louisiana State University, USA)
  • Michael Kunzinger (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Bojan Prangoski (University of Skopje, North Macedonia)
  • Armin Rainer (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Mitsuru Sugimoto (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Joachim Toft (Linnaeus University, Sweden)
  • Jochen Wengenroth (University of Trier, Germany)
  • Jens Wirth (University of Stuttgart, Germany)

Scientific Committee

  • José Bonet (Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Hans Feichtinger (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Günther Hörmann (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Irina Melnikova (Ural Federal University, Russia)
  • Michael Oberguggenberger (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  • Stevan Pilipović (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)
  • Iuliu Sorin Pop (Hasselt University, Belgium)
  • Luigi Rodino (University of Turin, Italy)
  • Michael Ruzhansky (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • James Vickers (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Jasson Vindas (Ghent University, Belgium)

Organizing Committee

  • Chair: Jasson Vindas (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Co-chair: Michael Ruzhansky (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Sandro Coriasco (University of Turin, Italy)
  • Andreas Debrouwere (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Iuliu Sorin Pop (Hasselt University, Belgium)
  • Hans Vernaeve (Ghent University, Belgium)
Technical support: Geert Vernaeve (Ghent University, Belgium)
FWO ISAAC Ghent University